24 members of The Peel Society visited the grave of Maurice Berkeley Peel in the Commonwealth War Grave Cemetery at Le Queant, near to the village of Bullecourt, where he was killed. In a moving ceremony, Nigel Morris, Chairman of The Peel Society laid a wreath on the grave, which had been blessed the previous Sunday by the Bishop of St. Albans in the commemorative service in St. Editha’s Parish Church.
Committee member, Roger Bragger read The Times report on his death, which stated that he set the standard for subsequent Chaplains service. The group then recited the famous poem by Laurence Binyon ‘For the fallen’. It was a moving experience to see the sacrifice of over 2,500 young people of whom 1400 were unknown.
After the visit to the cemetery, the group visited a museum in a farm at Bullecourt, which had been set up by the farmer as he ploughed up armaments and personal belongings, which had been covered after the battle of Bullecourt in May 1917. The most extraordinary relic is the remains of a very early British tank. The Battle of Bullecourt is known as ‘The Blood Tub’. Neither side won but it helped to reduce the German numbers.